2023 Update

Hailey Michimoto
1 min readJul 19, 2023

I can’t believe it’s been 2 years since the announcement that I have become a recipient of the Paubox Kahikina STEM Scholarship! Time really flies.

Last update, I mentioned that I was still awaiting my acceptance letter for the MLT program at KCC. I am happy to say that I was accepted! The program started this past January and I have learned so much just from these past 7 months. I remember being really nervous about blood draws but I now feel more comfortable drawing blood. In fact, I will be spending a week at a local hospital drawing patients and getting a feel for how the lab operates. We have spent much time in the classroom learning about different microorganisms, bacterium, genetic defects, immunological disorders, and so much more. It’s hard work, but it’s worth it. With the support of Paubox I feel motivated to work harder to really be something in this industry. As a Native Hawaiian, I feel that hard work ethic that I want to carry on throughout this educational journey and Paubox reminds me that I can do anything!

I look forward to next year’s update as I will (hopefully) complete the program, graduate, and move on to my next educational endeavor!

--

--