Paubox Kahikina STEM Scholarship 2021

Hailey Michimoto
2 min readJul 9, 2021

--

Aloha, my name is Hailey Michimoto and I am a recipient of the 2021 Paubox Kahikina STEM Scholarship.

Initially, the Paubox Kahikina Scholarship was granted towards Native Hawaiians seeking to pursue careers in Computer Science, but this year, 2021, the scope was expanded to careers in the STEM field and thus renamed the Paubox Kahikina STEM Scholarship. I am blessed and honored to be a recipient of this award.

Native Hawaiians strongly believed in healing powers and practiced medicine. They specialized in techniques using herbal remedies, orthopaedics, mana, and so much more. I have always had an interest in the health services and giving back to my community. It has always been crucial to me to help others. Tending to their needs is something I could achieve as a healthcare worker.

My goal is to earn a degree in biology and specialize in medical laboratory technology. I will start by attending Kapi’olani Community College to complete the required prerequisites to apply for their medical laboratory technician program. After completion of the program, I plan on transferring to UH Mānoa as well as the John A. Burns School of Medicine to advance my degree and become a medical laboratory scientist.

Department of Native Hawaiian Health — JABSOM

As a medical laboratory technologist, I will analyze body samples and aid physicians in diagnoses in order to treat patients.

Through the University of Hawai’i systems, I intend on earning a degree in Medical Laboratory Technology. There are a multitude of different branches in this particular field, and I am definitely leaning towards the IVF practice. Personally, I know a few women who have struggled to conceive, who often lose hope during their struggle to battle infertility.

With the help of Hoala Greevy and Paubox, I am now one step closer to becoming a scientist. With their help, I hope to achieve medical breakthroughs and promote wellness in my community here in Hawai’i. Support throughout each Hawaiian generation will keep the passion alive. I appreciate the intent of this award and the investment in me and my future endeavors. I encourage all Native Hawaiians in pursuit of attaining a degree in the STEM field to apply for this scholarship.

--

--